glazes in an ancient Whirlpool oven

A bottle of Arbor Mist Blackberry Merlot
waits to be poured into Dollar Tree goblets

A Betty Crocker Gingerbread cake has cooled
enough for the Betty Crocker cream cheese icing

A mother sits on a Broyhill couch
and  but has forgotten it's Christmas

Is a silent night still a holy night
If its name is neither spoken  said nor sung?

I absolutely LOVE this. The problem, you see, is that Holy Night does not have a strong enough Brand! 😉

This is a bit of very modern, very now - Genius. TY

13 hours ago, dr_con said:

I absolutely LOVE this. The problem, you see, is that Holy Night does not have a strong enough Brand! 😉

This is a bit of very modern, very now - Genius. TY

Thank you for reading and I am glad you liked it. It came in dribs and drabs during the day.

15 hours ago, badger11 said:

Nicely collated Marti. I have no knowledge of most of the labels. but that added interest.

best

Phil

Thanks, Phil. Just American consumer labels. This is about as "stream of consciousness" looking as I can get but I still had to have some symmetry and repetition. 🙂

Wow, what an interesting premise--this litany of brand names, all leading up to the last three lines, which turn everything around! I was just beginning to get sick of all the holiday superficiality when I realized to my great delight that so were you, and that was the whole point. The last three lines are just beautiful, and so poignant. You echo the drift of my heart!

On 1/1/2020 at 12:56 PM, tonyv said:

Marti, the scene is very Middle America. The speaker is home, though he is far from home. Very nicely done.

Tony

I see you picked up on that, my Estonian amigo. 😉

Thanks, as always.

On 1/1/2020 at 9:01 PM, A. Baez said: