Poetry Magnum Opus

snow globe

eclipse

The cloud turbaned moon winds away, twilight's broom sweeps dreams away, the day unravels like a bandage, my eyes are like broken umbrellas as I try to open them the morning after my eightieth birthday. The bedroom window has cataracts or it might be the frost, I see a magpie moving through the garden with snow on his back, he does not wait for my offering, I only have my deceased wife’s pearls and a wedding ring, I wonder if the magpie can detect the trajectory of time's arrow take a gold band and let it pass through.

I was a train driver for forty years, time and journeys were linear, my memory is not as clear as it used to be-the streets are now like untied shoelaces. I dream about places my day-time memory will not take me too. I have difficulty traveling which is why the arrival of different nationalities in Hull is so positive; they arrived like the magi bringing culture and a different perspective. Hull is a snow globe that needs shaking constantly, finding this unique town is like finding the last ship in a bottle in a ship of bottles.

I always find my way to this special place, the morning sky is primed for Pearson parks rapturous eye, streaming bands of scarlet that satisfy the senses. Over a lifetime the park has been a co-author providing a narrative. A new dynamic narrative has been cast out of the confluence of locals and different nationalities. The pigeons of Pearson Park always return to the same tree, perhaps they are acting as a monocle. There are some trees the birds will not return too, one memory comes back to me-the time I used to keep pigeons of my own, I would hear my wife talking in the loft to people who had passed away, people I had never met, she would deny doing this until she too passed away.