river banks.

Now, I place red and green

side by side, like two fishes,

black and white, swimming

in a globe where I see

moonrise and sunset,

west wind chase east rain

and rivers embrace mountains.

(Thanks Elphin for his eidit on the line breaks.)

Edited by Lake

This is quite lovely, Lake. I'll give some thoughts.

The first verse is clear. I'm no expert in punctuation, but I like the way you've used the colon and the semicolon. As far as I'm concerned, if punctuation is "correct" in prose it will work in poetry also, and I think you've used it correctly in the first verse.

The second verse is a bit unclear. I'll add some suggestions, though I'm not sure if I got your intent right.

When I grew up,

I learned how Dad, with

a deep-rooted southern accent,

pronounced land as green,

a green that can set off the rebirth of flowers

in spring, when the birds are chirping (Not sure about the comma. "While" or "as" would work, too, in place of "when")

along a thousand miles of

river banks.

The sentence is a bit long; perhaps it could be restructured a bit, but even as it is, I don't think it could be labeled "run-on."

The third verse is more clear, but I can see several ways that it could be modified. I'll present one.

black and white, into

a globe. I see

a moonrise, a sunset,

a west wind chasing the east rain,

and rivers embracing mountains.

Before the words "I see" you can add "in it" followed by a comma for extreme clarity, but I don't think it's necessary. I hope these ideas are useful.

Tony

Here is a link to an index of my works on this site: tonyv's Member Archive topic

I find your poetry very engaging Lake, thoughtful, but not abstruse. I also enjoyed the warmth in your poem and I like the sense of unity at the end.

badge

Thank you, Tony for your thoughts. You know that is what I need.

This is quite lovely, Lake. I'll give some thoughts.