what is but a heart but still

vacant, shaken in these hills

on these banks rank and rotten

when my love is forgotten

every syllable you read

seven to a sentence see

came as I awoke in sweat

choking on the these words of death

Welcome, Ross. Interesting choice of meter in this Poe-like work that gleams with a contemporary edge. Is it a favorite? I have little experience with it, but it seems to be the same one used by Blake in "The Tyger." So let me go ahead and ask are you sure it's trochaic tetrameter and not iambic tetrameter? The reason I ask is that, for the most part, each line ends in an iamb. Would love to know more about it if you could be so kind as to share a bit of your experience with it ...

Tony

Here is a link to an index of my works on this site: tonyv's Member Archive topic

abstrect-christ

nice. :unsure:

although.. this bugged me:

"wondered have I why I cry"

it loks like you meant to say one ofthe two things there unless it's just missing a comma.

Pinhead

"Unbearable, isn't it? The suffering of strangers, the agony of friends.

There is a secret song at the center of the world, Joey, and its sound is like razors through flesh."

Joey

"I don't believe you."

Pinhead

"Oh come, you can hear its faint echo right now. I'm here to turn up the volume.

To press the stinking face of humanity into the dark blood of its own secret heart."

"There's a starving beast inside my chest
playing with me until he's bored
Then, slowly burying his tusks in my flesh
crawling his way out he rips open old wounds

When I reach for the knife placed on the bedside table
its blade reflects my determined face
to plant it in my chest
and carve a hole so deep it snaps my veins

Hollow me out, I want to feel empty"
-- "Being Able To Feel Nothing" by Oathbreaker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aBPy3xNwwL8

"Sky turns to a deeper grey

the sun fades by the moon

hell's come from the distant hills

tortures dreams of the doomed

and they pray, yet they prey