goldenlangur

sound of feet

on the new snow

just on my own

tracing the old path

this anniversary

goldenlangur

goldenlangur

Even a single enemy is too many and a thousand friends too few - Bhutanese saying.

Larsen M. Callirhoe

what anniversary GL? inquiring minds want to know lol.

nice tanka i think. im not good with the syllable count.

yes it is snowing outside lightly right now.

have a nice day my friend.

vic

Larsen M. Callirhoe

Well done Golden! You are converting me icon_eek.gif to a form- The concise nature of the communication continues to astound me in your skilled hands.

Many Thanks!

DC

Hi Golden,

The mood in your poem is well captured. The feeling of isolation, detachment, poignancy is very strong. "just on my own" links the first part and second part well.

Thanks for the read.

Lake

Nice projection of loneliness with the snow.

"Words are not things, and yet they are not non-things either." - Ann Lauterbach

goldenlangur

Hi vic, DC, Lake and JoelJosol,

I'm delighted by your warm, encouraging review of this tanka.

vic - I was hoping that you as a reader would interpret the anniversary on a personal note. icon_smile.gif Not to worry about the syllable count rule, I'm hopeless with it.

DC - so glad that the compactness of the tanka form appeals to you. How generous your commendation.

Lake - It's wonderful that you honed into the pivot line. Must admit that it does not always work in my tanka attempts.

JoelJosol - the expanse of a snow covered landscape certainly enhances how small one is.

A big thank you.

goldenlangur

goldenlangur

Even a single enemy is too many and a thousand friends too few - Bhutanese saying.

Aleksandra

Wonderful poem Goldenlangur. Clear imagery but meaningful much more than just an imagery. The last two lines gives a space to the reader. The third line I can't connect very well and feel where is belong to, the clear wonderful imagery in the first lines or in the last two :).

I loved this tanka.

Aleksandra