Poetry Magnum Opus

Exploring the Craft of Writing Poetry From Around the World

Tinker

"There are two men inside the artist,
the poet and the craftsman.
One is born a poet.
One becomes a craftsman. . ."
~ ~ Emile Zola to Cézanne, 16 April, 1860

Poetry stirs the emotions as much by the manner of delivery as the message. The message comes from a poet's experiences, observations, imagination and most importantly, the poet's soul. The manner of delivery or craft comes from a poet's intellect and training. It is magic when soul and intellect work in harmony to touch the reader. Anyone can write a poem, the poet aspires to create the magic beyond the poem, something we call poetry.

We write about what we know, feel, imagine, or dream, we either have it or we don't. It is how we write that we can study, develop and fine-tune. “All the fun is how you say a thing.” Robert Frost.

I am a student of poetry, not an authority. I began recording the results of my study to help improve my writing. I've researched the history and evolution of verse to better understand the craft by gathering a good cross-section of resources. Several books as well as the internet were used in this quest and I try to use at least three concurring views to confirm my findings. Of course, what we read in a book or on the internet is not always accurate or complete. Often part of a puzzle is found in one source and a second or third part in another. With that in mind, I believe all of the sources used begin with a passion for poetry.