Poetry Magnum Opus

Who the hell is waxwings

waxwings

I am one of the newer mebers here and given to analysis of the excellence of poems written by others, including those I have befriended through several organizations dedicated to popularization of poetry. A Latvian born naturalized US citizen I have lived In minnesota since April 1950, except for a stint with the US Army. Jack of all trades, master of none, I am, by profession a multidisciplinary engineer, physicist, mathematician and chemist whose first love is writing. I learned to read and write in several languages starting at the age of 5 or thereabouts. I am known as a good translator by those who have sought out my services. I can read in about a dozen plus languages; speak almost like a native (with most not noting an accent) in Russian, Polish , German, Latin, Italian, French, Spanish and English. Totally fluent in some but not all, mostly due to an incomplete vocabulary and lack of usage achievable only through total immersion by living where everyday practice is mandatory.

I have come to realize that all languages are totally idiomatic in structure, that is, while any idea can be translated completely, the words used and the order in which they are spoken differ wastly in spite of saying the same. I have been learning to improve my English since 1945 but did not dare to write poems in English until about 1973 for just that reason.

Someone described poetry as a condensed language using the best words in their best order vs prose which uses the 'right' words in the right order. Not sure if that is a undisputable idea, but it does say a lot about the fact that a less than most carefully chosen word or two in a otherwise most excellent poem screams for attention and distracts the reading.